top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureInvisible Ring

EU Poetry #5: Invisible Ring's Poem

"I can't believe we don't have recess!"

"We haven't HAD recess since 6th grade!"

"Who cares? Playgrounds are boring."

"We grown-ups wouldn't be caught DEAD on a swingset with those mini-kids!"



Teacher: Hello, class! I see you're talking about recess today?

Student: Did you hear what they just said?! How can anyone hate recess?!



"It's too much work now!"

"The swings make me sick."

"Playgrounds are for little kids."



Now, now, class, we ALL have different opinions on outdoor play areas. Professors like me, for example, say that there should be recess for EVERYONE: Grades K-12, college, working class, AND maybe senior class, because no one's getting enough exercise anymore!

...BUT this is not debate class, this is poetry class, and it just so happens I've got a recess poem RIGHT HERE, written by none other than the fabulous icon, Invisible Ring!



" *GASP* Invisible Ring?!"

"I'm her biggest fan!"

"She makes the BEST stuff!"

"I can't WAIT to hear her poem!"



See Saw - Written by Invisible Ring


You saw the seesaw

I saw the seesaw

We saw the seesaw

Seesaw see


Up go the seesaw

Down go the seesaw

Up & down, up & down,

You and me.


Bump up the seesaw

Drop down the seesaw,

Riding on the seesaw

We yell "WHEE!"


But the head gets shaky

And the tummy gets turny

And we both get sick-y

Sick we be


Drop off the seesaw

Slide off the seesaw

Face turn green and

Face turn red


We chose the wrong ground

On this playground

Why don't we

Slide the slide instead?


...Word.



"Ha-ha-ha! ...Wow, with poems like that, THIS class feels like a recess in and of itself!"

"More like INDOOR Recess!"

"OH, Indoor Recess was the BEST!"

"I know, right?!"


*BRINNNNNNNG!*




...Oop! Time's up! So glad you all enjoyed this session, but it looks like Indoor Recess is over for today. See you all next time!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page