top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureInvisible Ring

EU Poetry #3: Comic Book Classics

Updated: 3 days ago

Settle down, class! We have a new poem today. But first, a question!


...How many of you know Calvin and Hobbes?



"OMG I LOVE Calvin and Hobbes!"

"Me too!"

"I've heard of it, but I've never read it."

"DUDE, you're missin' out!"



Teacher: Yes, Calvin and Hobbes is known not only for its artistic integrity and heavy vocabulary, but ALSO for its poetry!


Student: Are we gonna study one of the poems Calvin made up about Hobbes?"


Teacher: Good guess. Today, though, we are reading a poem that was added both to The Complete Calvin and Hobbes, and to the Treasury Collection of The Indispensable Calvin and Hobbes.



Exerpt from The Complete Calvin and Hobbes (2012 edition) - Book 3/4, Page 331

Bill Watterson, 1992


I made a big descision a little while ago,

I don't remember what it was, which prob'ly goes to show

That many times a simple choice can prove to be essential

Even though it often might appear inconsequential.


I must have been distracted when I left my home because

Left or fight I'm sure I went. (I wonder which it was!)

Anyway, I never veered: I walked in that direction

Utterly absorbed, it seems, in quiet introspection.


For no reason I can think of, I've wandered far astray.

And that is how I got to where I find myself today.




Student: Wow... What a poem! Any chance we'll read ANOTHER Calvin and Hobbes poem again?


Teacher: We shall see.


*BRRRRINNNNGGGG!!


Teacher: Oop, that's the bell! If you have any poetry requests, bring them in class for next time! Have a good day, everyone!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page