top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureInvisible Ring

The Word on Poptropica

Almost all I heard on the PHC from when I joined last October to when I quit last month was that Poptropica is dead. I refused to give up hope, but everyone laid down their research to me and tried to convince me that my optimism was meaningless. They knew more than I did of course... but they weren't all that nice to me, so I ended up ignoring their pessimism.


However, Recent posts on the PHB have gotten my attention. There have been interviews with Jess Brailer and other original creators of Poptropica, and they have been pretty disappointed with how Poptropica is today. Comparisons were made with Mocktropica, flaws of the foundation, both old and new were pointed out, and my first thought on this was: "So the rumors are true..." I am not gonna ramble on and on about this, but if you're wondering what I am talking about, then here are the links to the PHB posts.


In these posts, I also found inside stories on how a Poptropica TV show was almost founded, but then it became a bestselling book series instead. The Poptropica creators claimed that the times these books were made was Poptropica's best time. And I happen to agree with that statement.


I played Poptropica as Invisible Ring nonstop for 7 years in a row now, and I feel like I learned and grew so much. And had a lot of fun. But now, I've gotten tired of all the stuff that the website has to offer. I don't even care when and if Poptropica ports the old islands over to Haxe anymore. Perhaps not even Realms. But I haven't forgotten the amazing spirit of Adventure Poptropica has been for me these past 7 years. The Poptropica Month celebration and Dream island contest were huge inspirations for me, too. Now, instead of going on web adventures, I'm using my art and moviemaking skills and creating adventures of my own.


With all this being said, I am beginning to question my own fan club. Well, technically it's Golden Crown's club as well as mine, but I still am unsure about this club now. I am struggling really hard to make my server a safe and kid-friendly club where we are all friends and we share our ideas on what Poptropica means to us and how we can make it great. It has proven to be quite fruitless so far. Not only that, but now that I have read the PHB posts, I am asking myself "even if my club ever turns out how I want it to be, is there any point in having a club in regard to Poptropica fandom anymore?"


Normally I would do my best to find fun and positivity in everything, just like in all my other posts here, but I'm all tapped out. I'm sorry, guys... I just don't know what to do.



46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page